What is the HSK?


Last Update 3 years ago

The Hanyu Shuiping Kaoshi (HSK) is the standardized test of Mandarin Chinese language proficiency of China for non-native speakers such as foreign students and overseas Chinese. 

Who is it for?

  • Students wanting to study abroad in China.
  • Professionals working or doing business in China.
  • Anybody wanting to motivate themselves to learn Chinese.
  • English teachers in China.


As for now, the HSK test is structured with 6 levels, from beginner to advanced.

HSK 1150Designed for learners who can understand and use some simple Chinese characters and sentences to communicate, and prepares them for continuing their Chinese studies.
HSK 2150Designed for learners who can use Chinese in a simple and direct manner, applying it in a basic fashion to their daily lives. 
HSK 3300Designed for learners who can use Chinese to serve the demands of their personal lives, studies and work, and are capable of completing most of the communicative tasks they experience during their Chinese tour.
HSK 4600Designed for learners who can discuss a relatively wide range of topics in Chinese and are capable of communicating with Chinese speakers at a high standard.
HSK 51300Designed for learners who can read Chinese newspapers and magazines, watch Chinese films and are capable of writing and delivering a lengthy speech in Chinese.
HSK 62500Designed for learners who can easily understand any information communicated in Chinese and are capable of smoothly expressing themselves in written or oral form.

🚨 There is little information about the new HSK (2021), we'll update our app once it is official. 

Was this article helpful?

1 out of 1 liked this article